Our Board

Rebecca Bourne Jones – Chair is an arts marketing and management consultant, who has worked in the industry since 2002. She has a degree in Communications (UTS) and a Masters of Management in Arts Management (UTS). Rebecca began her career in London, and has had a series of marketing, communications, and development roles for organisations including the National Theatre and Churchill War Rooms (London), Madison Square Park Conservancy (NYC), and Sydney Youth Orchestras and Sydney Festival (Sydney). In 2013 she joined Better Happy as Creative Partnerships Consultant, where she brings her arts experience to a new approach to brand partnerships. She joined the Board in August 2013.

Vanessa Bateup is a media & intellectual property lawyer with bachelor degrees in commerce and law (honours).  Vanessa has many years experience in the entertainment industry having worked for 7 years as an in-house lawyer in London at ITV, one of Europe’s largest commercial broadcasters. She trained at Blake Dawson Waldron and currently works in-house at the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. Vanessa joined the Board in February 2009.

Tess de Quincey – Secretary is the main generator of artistic ideas that drive the company. She has been working professionally in dance and theatre since 1978 in Europe, Japan India & Australia as a performer, teacher and director. Her performance work in different terrains – from city to desert – around the world has engendered a series of works concerned with inhabitation and the nature of place. Her main emphasis is on intercultural, site-specific and cross-disciplinary works. She has served on De Quincey Co Board since its inception in June 2000.

Ryan Hunt has held roles at various tech companies around the world such as Skype (London) and RealNetworks (Seattle) and is now a Product Manager in the Innovation team at News Corp Australia in Sydney. He holds a Bachelor of Computer Science and a Masters of Business Administration (MBA), both from the University of Wollongong and joined the board in January 2016, after being an observer for a year.

Antonia Seymour  has over 10 years’ experience in the cultural sector as an arts marketer and media producer. With bachelor degrees in business (UTS) and arts (UNSW) she was the Head of Marketing and Communications at the Lyric Hammersmith in London before returning to Sydney with her first child. Prior to the UK she worked with many of Australia’s leading arts companies with arts consultancy JCM and as Marketing Manager of Sydney Dance Company. Antonia recently produced multimedia projects for the museums and the cultural sector at Lightwell, and was Associate Producer at Performing Lines, then produced the Australian Theatre Forum in 2013 before joining Urban Theatre Projects as producer. She also serves on the Board of Arts on Tour (NSW). Antonia served on the De Quincey Co Board from 2003 to 2005 and re-joined in February 2010.

Previous Board Members

Donna Brett
2003 – 2005
Terese Casu
2007 – 2008
Gerard F Doolin
2003 – 2007
Susan Donnelly
2007 – 2009
Russell Emerson
2000 – 2003
Kiersten Fishburn
2012 – 2015
Dragan Gasic
2007 – 2008
Rani Haywood 
2005 – 2011
Simon Hinton
2001 – 2002
Bradford Johnson
2008 – 2011
Michelle Lew
2006 – 2007
Michelle McDonald
2007 – 2009
Amanda MacDonald Crowley
2002 – 2002
Joan Miller
2007 – 2008
Vicki Middleton
2008 – 2011
Philip Oldfield
2000 – 2004
Colin Rhodes
2012 – 2015
Meryl Rogers
2005 – 2007
David Robb
2012 – 2015
Edward Scheer
2000 – 2003
Antonia Seymour
2003 – 2005
Peter Steidl
2005 – 2006
Mark Sutcliffe
2003 – 2004
Kate Towey
2009 – 2011
Mary-Louise Williams
2006 – 2008
Andre Winarto
2005 – 2007
Ann Mossop
2011 – 2012
Ivona Kadlec
2011 – 2013
Michael Huxley
2013 – 2018
Camilla Rountree
2015 – 2020
David Studdy
2013 – 2022